The Hollars

The film was wonderfully thought-provoking while still being a pretty standard film about a pretty normal family with pretty common problems. It was a laugh til you cry and cry til you laugh film. Margo Martindale blew my mind with her wit and sarcasm, meanwhile transitioning so naturally into the utter fear people often feel when suddenly faced with the overwhelming possibility of death. The brothers played off of each other so well, and the father fit right into the puzzle. The film just made sense. It wasn’t too much or too little, it was the right balance of breathtakingly beautiful, shockingly comical, and superbly plain. It’s one of my favorites that I’ve watched this year, even if it’s several years old by now. Glad it stayed on my list and that I finally unearthed this tucked-away gem. Highly recommend. Oh also THE SOUNDTRACK: A+.

About jenschofieldportfolio

My name is Jennifer Schofield and I graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 2017. I have experience as a 1st AD (primarily) and other positions (ask for reference). To contact me, please email me at jenschofield94@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment